What I Read in January 2021…

Ms. Tariah
2 min readFeb 9, 2021

--

Hi there, welcome to my corner again.

So I decided to be consistent with my reading this year and I plan to read books by Nigerian authors. My first book for 2021 was Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

Purple Hibiscus’ cover

I posted this on my blog at the beginning of the year to not only hold myself accountable but to also share my reading list with other readers.

Purple Hibiscus is about 15-year-old Kambili, who grew up under a religious father who was wealthy and repressive. Kambili, her brother Jaja and her mother suffered abuse in their home until her father sent her and her brother away to stay with their aunt, who was a University professor, and there they discovered life and love beyond the confines of their father’s authority.

I totally enjoyed reading this book and I liked the way the story was told. I didn’t expect the ending but I was satisfied with it.

This is my 5th book by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and I am looking forward to reading the rest of her books soon. If you are in Nigeria, you can get a copy from Roving Heights.

I also read “A Broken People’s Playlist” by Chimeka Garricks. This is a collection of short stories about living, loving, and hurting through familiar songs, woven together that each story flows into the other seamlessly.

A broken people’s playlist

The stories are set in Port Harcourt and that’s my favorite part. I enjoyed reading it and will read it again.

If you are in Nigeria, you can get a copy from Roving Heights and Masobe Books.

See Ya!

--

--